Lost in the flood…

I am playing around with this program this morning: Tilt-Shift:

http://tiltshiftmaker.com

When I took this screenshot, it was one of those moments between the real world and virtual that makes one stop for a moment, and just–I’m not sure what. The ghost in the machine, Deus Ex Machina, glitch in the matrix. This plate outfit was put together with a storm motif, and when I flew Luperci out to the outskirts of Stormwind, the sky clouded up, and became heavy with rain. I have better shots, which when I have time will dig through, but in the meantime was excited to share this photography editing tool with you all. It gives a depth of field to our screenshot photography that allows for the idiosyncrasies of old-fashioned photography, which, in my opinion, still has a magic all its own.

You know–it’s funny. All the “real” photographs I have, I have in existence. Since digital photography, I feel I have handed over my memories to the “machine.” I don’t know where precious photographs are, and I know that there is one short film of a very special person that is lost forever. There is something to be said for real, honest-to-goodness memory recorders. Hard-drives and archives fail, but yet — the walls of the pyramids still stand. Yes, I know fires, floods, and time can lose objects, both trash and treasure, but the machine –and its expediency and allure of fast, faster, fastest, have enabled many failures of collecting and storing.

Yes, I am a little sad about this. This aspect of my life, an important one, chronicling the rites and rituals of time passage, got out of my control. And I don’t like it.

Everyone complains about the virtual weather, but no one ever does anything about it.

Leave a Reply

