OLRG: Better Swimmers Edition (Forty-Beats #39)

 

Warning: This post has emotions. Quite a few actually.

ulduar
Just look up.

“Those who travel with the current will always feel they are good swimmers; those who swim against the current may never realize they are better swimmers than they imagine.” – Shankar Vendantum

Magic is an odd beast. Just when we feel bonded, it’s our kinsmen, it rears up and snaps at us, bites the hand so to speak. The magical lyrics for this post poured through my head as I wandered downstairs this morning, and yet faced with the white screen, they fled. So patience with me while I grab my butterfly net and try to capture the ideas again.

Today is a beautiful day–one of those rare sunny spring days in the Pacific Northwest. Sadly, record-breaking levels of rain in March caused a tragic disaster, one of the worst in our state’s history.

But today is one of those days that conquer the worst nightmares, and momentarily suspend belief in all things harmful. They simply do not exist on days like today.

So here is where I head into Over-Thinking Country. You don’t need to indulge me by staying on this post. I’m actually in a really wonderful mood, but feel it necessary to acknowledge a few things.

The OLRG had a wonderful time last night–we went to Firelands for that silly staff again (that staff has become Momokawa’s Moby Dick. And as much as I want to make jokes about chasing Dick right now…STOP) ANYWAY – Fandral: Dude. Listen. Really. Just give the druid her staff, okay? We’ll still visit, we LOVE you, you crazy misunderstood tragic villain you! Tie us up in root-balls and threaten us with flaming birds, we don’t care! And Ulduar – always a joy. We had some goofy-footing on the last boss, but somehow, when I’m with the OLRG, it feels like it should – it just doens’t matter. We calmly reaadjust, there is never a hint of nerd-rage, not one drop, and we learn something. For example, I learned that those Quillen dogs have a resurrection spell– Haanta! Seriously woman! Learn your Beast Mastery Class!

It was however – quiet. I noticed that Taikutta wasn’t there, and though he never says much in Vent, his presence is somehow very “present.” Do you know what I mean? You know how you just know that there is a bedrock there? And Prinnie was there a bit afterwards, and her sweet funny personality is always welcome.

But the quiet: Breige is going through a very sad time now. Her cat of twenty years has failing health, and she and her dear veterinarian are discussing the difficult decision. The truth is, we live in a time when our animals receive better healthcare than many of our human citizens. This isn’t a judgement or indictment, it’s just an observation. And because our beloved animals receive such excellent care, they often live much longer than they would have under other circumstances. Every day I read at least one post by a Facebook friend (and they never had children, at least not yet) about heroic measures they take to save their animals. One friend posted about the extensive medical expenses and procedures to save her cat. The list of medicines, surgeries, and diagnosis were fascinating to read, and showed how deeply committed this friend is to her companion and best animal friend. My parenthetical notation about children is also not a judgement, but an observation.  I am not of the construct or belief that “if they had a baby…” sort of nonsense. Our animal companions mean the world to us, and I am very, very sorry for Breige’s sorrow.

Yesterday night, I logged into Mataoka, and there was a wonderful letter from Taikutta. Taik: I completely understand. We OLRG are not only a force of good in Azeroth, but in all of the worlds.

I’ll share this personal anecdote: CD Rogue and I have had a long history of financial struggles. I felt somewhat guilty by posting about his and our cub’s trip: there are so many things people don’t know that happens behind the scenes. For example, this trip came at the cost of invisible forces, some tangible, some not. E-mails to teachers begging for help for our cub. Spinning bald tires on wet roads. Struggling to pay other bills, and going into more debt. But here’s how I rationalize this: we only get one life. If opportunities for the ‘fireworks’ come our way, and we can make it happen, the experiences are far more valuable than burning thin rubber.

Real life always trumps Azerothian life, with all its grit, light, sun, moon, and salt. The most surprising thing CD Rogue and cub told me was they were amazed that the moon in Costa Rica is straight overhead, and as much as they know about astronomy they had forgotten about the angles of the earth/moon relationship.

Sometimes the most amazing things can be seen if you just look up.

 

10 thoughts on “OLRG: Better Swimmers Edition (Forty-Beats #39)”

  1. Erm … I have a Beast Mastery Hunter and I did not know that either, shame on you Hunter. So I learned that AND I have now watched a video that may or may not help me find my way to the brain next time!

    Fireworks are always more important. I remember what my mother let me skip school to be a part of and the hell with the F I got on the missed biology test. Stupid guy did not understand fireworks.

    1. I am beginning to come to the truth that most of the world doesn’t understand the fireworks. Why these small-minded jealous assholes have to taint our wonderful moments with their pettiness…oh well. We win, don’t we? And that scene with LK in the basement of the brain…priceless! CD Rogue said the Costa Ricans have a national motto: pura vida – pure life. I can get behind that. And they saw SLOTHS! SLOTHS!!! And pretzel-stealing monkeys, and and and…all worth it.

  2. Sigh, all this sadness mixed in with happiness. I guess you always need one to balance the other or you never really truly appreciate the good things when they’re there. I will hug Briege next time i see her in game.

    1. She could use it. I didn’t mention that Señor came down with terrible pneumonia, (is there ever a non-terrible kind?) and I’m sure he’s sitting there wondering what the f*ck am I talking about, that there is no room to b*tch, and I agree. All a matter of perspective: bottom line – I love my friends, and am very blessed.

  3. Poor Breige. 😦 We had to do that with my old cat last year and it can never ever not be awful.
    On a more uplifting note, I love that you made those fireworks happen. Yes! Those are important.
    We’ll get Momokawa her staff eventually and best of all we will have fun doing it because above all that is what we do and that’s why I love those Saturday Pick me up runs so much.

    1. Me too! I’m sitting here thinking what we can do for next week – it’s an important family weekend for a lot of folks, but we’ll just do the best we can!

  4. It was hard when our cat had to be put down. I couldn’t get myself to go to the vet too say goodbye. Hope things look up for your family soon.

  5. I really apologized asnd unable to come i really missed the fun… 😔 but im sure olrg will run it again. 😄 so i wont worry it too much. Did the staff really dropped? If it did congrats hon. 😄

    anyway, take care always! Love you all! 😍

    1. No – the staff did NOT drop. I’m beginning to think we got the last one for Tome! lol Anytime you can make it is great – look forward to next time!

Leave a Reply

