Parcel of Rogues

They'll never know what hit them...oh wait...my truck when I rear-end them...
They’ll never know what hit them…oh wait…my truck when I rear-end them…

While driving around yesterday, I caught the tail-end of Rick Steves’ Travel show, the theme being “Troubador’s Scotland.” I don’t care for Rick Steves, and I have no idea why. Something about his voice reminds me of feet that are dry and soft brushing up against you in your sleep. *Shudder* Anyway, he had a guest on with a great Scottish accent, and I must confess – you know how some people sing in the car? I practiced my Scottish accent. Everything the man said, I repeated out loud, and it was passable as a direct mimic, but I am sure I couldn’t produce that dialect on command. Going to take much more practice. One thing he said that pricked my ears was this poem by Robert Burns, ‘A Parcel of Rogues.’

Parcel of Rogues

Roberts Burns

Fareweel to a’ our Scottish fame, 
Fareweel our ancient glory; 
Fareweel ev’n to the Scottish name, 
Sae fam’d in martial story. 
Now Sark rins over Solway sands, 
An’ Tweed rins to the ocean, 
To mark where England’s province stands- 
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation! 

What force or guile could not subdue, 
Thro’ many warlike ages, 
Is wrought now by a coward few, 
For hireling traitor’s wages. 
The English stell we could disdain, 
Secure in valour’s station; 
But English gold has been our bane- 
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation! 

O would, or I had seen the day 
That Treason thus could sell us, 
My auld grey head had lien in clay, 
Wi’ Bruce and loyal Wallace! 
But pith and power, till my last hour, 
I’ll mak this declaration; 
We’re bought and sold for English gold- 
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation!

Moral of the story? My Scottish accent is about as good as my rogue-ing.

Still and always.

2 thoughts on “Parcel of Rogues”

  1. Who doesn’t love Robert Burns and a good Scottish accent? 😀 I think it’s probably my favorite of all accents. (Mine’s terrible too and my rogue-ing is worse.)

    1. I think to myself, I am the only human within how many miles who instead of singing along to Adele (which I wouldn’t do) I’m practcing my Scottish accent. Like my rogue-ing, I’ll keep practicing too!

Leave a Reply

