10 for 10

Alt:ernative-Godmother Ten Years, Ten Questions
Alt:ernative-Godmother Ten Years, Ten Questions

The Godmother asks us all, past, current, and addicted players ten questions about World of Warcraft. This bandwagon is large enough to hold thousands, so one more little me won’t break it, I’m sure! These are simple but potentially deeply reflective questions, and I’m not sure I have enough coffee to do them justice. These answers have been altered from the ones I typed in her Google Forms document, simply because it’s my blog and can do more things. If I was really ambitious this morning, I would create a slide show or one of my terrible, terrible i-movies.

1. Why did you start playing World of Warcraft?

My younger son wanted me to play. He regrets it, and often I do, too. Poor kid.

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

Mataoka, The Most Beautiful Shaman in the World. Still and always my first love.

I adore my other characters, which is why I’m still in great distress over potential changes to them, including Momokawa:

No. No. No. NO.
No. No. No. NO.

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

By default–family members in Alliance. But honestly, I am fairly apathetic about manufactured allegiances. Sometimes I envy those who choose a side and defend it. We just had a winning Superbowl Championship in my neck of the woods, and I look around at all the fanatic fans and feel like an alien. I don’t get it.

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

Probably helping a young paladin out of a quest jam and realizing this anagnorisis moment where I could be a character in a narrative and watch it unfold as I go. I was hooked. Making my blogging friends, and having others who understand me when most in “the real world” don’t is pretty damn cool, too. This entire blog’s content is devoted to the good, the bad, and the pixelized.

5. What is your favorite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

Finding the little details: the tiny shrines, the architectural details, and even ideas for dream gardens. But I’m too busy playing WoW to actually go outside and make any of it a reality!

Little Shrines Along the Way
Little Shrines Along the Way

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

I quickly answered Duskwood, but Tainted Forest and Gilneas are both under utilized and incredibly rich and detailed. Azuremyst will always feel like home.

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

Over four years, and yes, continuous. Too long.

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

Yes, it’s some of the funniest and most endearing part of Azeroth. For example:

A Dwarf's Got Needs....indeed sir
A Dwarf’s Got Needs….indeed sir

 

 

 

 

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

Just time away from my other personal goals, family, and friends. Like any quasi-addiction, it exacts a cost. Always trying to find balance.

10. What effects has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

It gave me inspiration to write this blog, which has brought me a lot of satisfaction, and paradoxically (sweet) angst.

Leave a Reply

