Minority Report: Orcs

Orc and Draenei
Orc and Gnome

It’s too damn early in the morning and I haven’t made coffee yet, so this will be incoherent gibberish. What else is new? Everyone is loving the new and improved Orcs. The Horde has the new mount, Orcs won the new model redesign, possibly even out-distancing Dwarfs’, and they are the feature of Warlords of Draenor.

They even – yes – even get a second chance.

A second chance to be good? To behave? No, smash kill smash without the fel-blood hangover.

Everyone is excited. Everyone is happy. Everyone–and here comes Negative Nancy...but…

Me.

I can’t help but ask, where are the Draenei and Night Elf races journeys for healing and redemption? Where will their stories lead them? Will they be offered the Green Goo of Deals-with-Demons Kool-aid and get to make a choice? Will this bring back their loved ones, or will they just have to watch the scenes play out again? Are they just background noise for the Orcs now? Is everyone background noise for the Orcs now? 

You may be thinking I don’t like Orcs now – not true. I really like all races – each one has both redemptive and unique flaws that potentially create well-rounded narratives. (And thank goodness I don’t depend all my narrative fantasies on Blizzard: I would never play. Mattel didn’t give me stories for my Barbie dolls – I made them up, and elaborate ones they were indeed.)

As I have mentioned, I sometimes envy those who not only understand the intricacies of lore, but also have a vested interest in sides/allegiances. I don’t dislike Horde anymore than I prefer Alliance. I responded to characters, not politics. And I still feel the same. But perhaps we humans are a bloodthirsty species after all: just read the chatter and comments whenever Jaina is doing whatever it is she does; she’s the ‘worst mage’ is one of the kinder comments. And when the peace-loving family man Thrall is confronting Garrosh, well he’s called a wuss among other things. Peace? Peace is for chumps. What’s so funny about peace, love, and understanding? Everything.

Last relic of Draenei lore...
Where they buried your lore, princess…

Mataoka wandered around Auchidoun yesterday, and purposeful Draenei spirits walked to their own destinations. And this is where you will realize what an idiot I am: until young cub pointed out it is a maseoleum, a graveyard.  One Blizzard player asked, where is the Draenei lore? There is no Draenei lore anymore. This relic took Mataoka to, of all places, Fray Island: she found herself in a tower watching an Orc and Troll fight.

landed me

fray island

The expansion looks incredible, and I am going to enjoy it: I just had to get this off my breastplate. I have valued From Draenor With Love’s series, especially their slant on friendships between Orcs and Draenei. Both races were abused by unmitigated power, as all the world’s inhabitants are. Here’s a cup of cheer to wish them both a better future. But I have my doubts: I’ll speak softly and carry a big pole arm. Better yet: a big pencil, and write my own stories.

9 thoughts on “Minority Report: Orcs”

  1. That picture is just priceless. I laughed so hard. I have to admit I really thought after this expansion the factions should have just gotten together and decided to fight the baddies together but I’m probably in the minority. And maybe I’m being selfish because it would sure help with all the deaths when I fly into the wrong hotel.

    1. I have a feeling it’s every Orc for himself now. Ah well. At least we Old Ladies will continue to fight evil on all fronts, no matter the race or faction! Onward!

  2. I loved that orc cinematic. It was amazing and I can see why they did it the way they did it, though at the same time there was a sneaking wish for other stuff to have been in there somewhere too. I actually think it seemed more decided to me because they also streamed the first Lords of War (which was also great but very orc-centric.) It’s comes across as a very orc centered expansion, though I hope that in game we’ll be seeing more of the draenei too. They were a major part of that story and I’m curious to know what their place will be in it now.
    And yes, we Old Ladies will always fight evil, no matter which faction or race we may play. I -still- wish they’d let us battletag up cross-faction, at least for older content.

      1. You’re not entirely alone in that. I wanted there to be draenei in it. I wanted to see Blood Elves and Night Elves do something too. I always loves Blizzard’s Cinematics because they are always breathtaking, and I can see why they picked that scene to do. But at the same time it’s a bit hard for me to explain how I can really really like something and still feel a little disappointed.

  3. I love their cinematics, always have. But the story they are trying to tell is just bad. They really needed to go to your writing workshop, because it’s descending into the old 80’s/90’s D&D novel level of bad.

    It’s never been about you. You and your peaceful, logical, sensible ways, looking for healing or redemption. It always has been, and always will be, about the big men beating their chests and hooting at each other. Even the final expansion, which I am convinced will be the actual, full-on invasion of the Burning Legion with Sargeras waking up, will be all about trying to cobble together a last-ditch defence while Orcs and Humans bicker. It’s just how Blizzard writes for WoW.

    Unfortunately, on this front I fear you are doomed to eternal disappointment.

    1. I believe you have a point – fortunately, my stories (even if in my own head) are far more interesting. Ah well. It is ‘just a game.’

      Guess I’ll just have to turn my attention to trying to beat Gothik the Harvester for the 549th time.

Leave a Reply

