RTMT: Monsters We Created

Sprites my fanny.
Sprites my fanny.

We interrupt this regularly scheduled Random Tuesday Morning Thought to bring you little monsters. Specifically, little troll hacking monsters.

Helke alerted me to this news story. Usually when I’m in Azeroth, I’m IN Azeroth – in spite of the chaos, mice, unpaid bills, and Cruel Taskmaster’s BACK TO WORK’s–I’ll get whispers late at night, when I’m snuggled in bed, playing Hearthstone, and it’s hard for me to respond. I wish I had an “Open Sign” that went dark between the hours of 9PM and 7AM.

Oh, and Mr. Snerguls: remember, data are plural: One thing to keep in mind; your data in Blizzard’s servers was were never in any jeopardy.

And claiming national security is not an overreaction, but I do believe it’s misunderstood. It is not that people couldn’t play games, and our responses to national security are –let me just say complex at best. Frisking eight-year-olds does not security create. However, when young civilians have the brains and psychopathic tendencies combined with a steady stream of disassociated reality, we create a potential for even more than disruptive shenanigans.

On a tangential note, Mr. and Mrs. WoW ask about our feelings about Big Blizzard itself. This incident, and many others, remind me that Blizzard is a business, first and foremost; they are allowed and encouraged to employ, pay taxes, and return on investment to the infrastructure and customers that in return, help them make the profits they do. So when I, as paying customer, have an issue, they have been great in resolving it, and for the most part, have turned from arrogance to being more responsive.

As they should.

PS: Dude, those hands.

For the LOVE OF ELUNE THOSE F*CKING HANDS.

big hands

2 thoughts on “RTMT: Monsters We Created”

  1. As for the jerks causing all the outages with their internet shenanigans… well I suspect they have broken enough laws for prison time, so I hope they had fun basically ‘trolling’ to no purpose.

    Male Night Elves were clearly the afterthought to end all afterthoughts. They got no artcraft at all, faces are really not the least bit like the originals in my opinion and after trying not to be overly negative in my own post on it… I am still upset. And more upset still that I’m having to think about spending more real money because I am not sure I can play Tyl like he is.

Leave a Reply

