disco sucks

Walking ’round the room singing
Stormy Weather
At fifty seven Mt. Pleasant St.
Now it’s the same room but everything’s different
You can fight the sleep but not the dream
Things ain’t cooking in my kitchen
Strange affliction wash over me
Julius Caesar and the Roman Empire
Couldn’t conquer the blue sky
There’s a small boat made of china
Going nowhere on the mantelpiece
Do I lie like a lounge room lizard
Or do I sing like a bird released?

Confession: I love raiding with Hawtpocket. But–I turned off the playing soundtrack she provided for the raiders. Every now and then someone in Vent says, “I love this song!” or “This should be Garrosh’s theme song,” and I chastise myself for not wanting to listen to Journey or whatever else might be on this 80s list. I really hate that music.  So, I opted out, and miss an important part of the social bonding.

This list is NOT the soundtrack I would create for raiding night, either. Dahahka recently posted a great write-up of some of his life’s most influential music, and gave me a friendly challenge to do the same. This is a conglomerate of chronological memories, most overlapping. Don’t judge.

Elvis Presley: this one was hard to put on this list and age myself. When I was a very tiny little girl, I wanted to kiss Elvis Presley. years later when I was introduced to the LBGT community by my housemates, and they told me they always loved girls, I realized that we are all truly born who we are. Yes, wanting to kiss Elvis Presley indirectly made me not only tolerant but wholly accepting of the spectrum that is human sexuality. He was already past his prime when I heard his music, and my mother wasn’t that big of a fan. I must have seen one of his movies on TV and felt the ooze of sexuality. (Oh, like you never did!) But this is how I know, and knew, that we are truly who we are, and we know who we are from a very early age. I was born in the era of the Beatles, and their musical influence on my life is indelible.

The Partridge Family

tape cassette player

You may start seeing a trend here. Me. David Cassidy. Married. The End.

Second grade. Roller skates. My prized possession: a cassette tape recorder that was used not only to play my Partridge Family cassette, but used to record my own voice. Those tapes are lost to the ages, surely to be uncovered by some future archeologist who will wonder who this small goddess when she listens to the data, which in the future will be instantly recoverable and archived. Surely. Right?

The Beatles

The most sustainable music ever created.

Elton John

Elton John’s music marks my early adolescence.

Top 40 Pop – 70s style

When I lived overseas, Casey Kasem’s voice incongruently introduced me to Aerosmith, The Eagles (in the words of the Dude, I hate the fucking Eagles–but back then I didn’t), and many others. This is one of my favorites:

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/56494381″>Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around & Fell In Love – HD Bubblerock Promo</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/danbanrock1″>Dan Ban</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Pink Floyd

Me. Headphones. Dark Room. Surviving 9th grade. The Wall didn’t help nearly as much.

Led Zeppelin

I love you, Robert Plant. And I know you love me, too.

The Alternative Years:

Late high school and college gave me some of the best guy friends I’ve ever had, and still have. Young men who adored me, put no pressure on me, and simply wanted to hang out with me, share their music, and make me laugh. I made them laugh, too, and was completely free to be as funny as I wanted, and as smart.

DEVO

Talking Heads

B 52s

The Pretenders/The Police.

When everyone else was listening to the Scorpions and other shitty 70s/80s rock, I was trying to get my friends to listen to the Pretenders and The Police. One of my sad tales is I had tickets to the Police when they first started, but they canceled the small venue show because of illness. I swear to heaven Sting, you owe me one.

The Ramones

Buckingham/Nicks

Every couple should have an album, not just a song. This was mine and my first big love’s. It only exists in my memories now, and not all good ones.

Peter Gabriel

It’s hilarious to tell ‘kids these days’ with all the Anaconda Do’s and Don’ts that yes, that is footage of sperm at the beginning of this:

INXS

Neil Finn/Crowded House

My and CD Rogue’s music:

I dare you not to sing along to this one:

Where am I now musically? I don’t listen to music from my past all that much, and try to listen to both old and newer tracks. A lot of the music I listen to now reminds me of the past years spent in Azeroth. For example, this is a druid’s song if I ever heard one:

 

7 thoughts on “disco sucks”

  1. I won’t go into the rather lengthy history of music and me. I will simply share one song that is a favorite and I think you can understand why Matty:

      1. There are groups on your list that I love but forgot about, must go listen to them now they have been rediscovered. And there are others that I love and haven’t forgotten. Talking Heads, The Pretenders.

      2. Ah, that’s right. I was trying to repress the Dwarfs and trying to figure out that first achievement. Me and patience have never seen eye-to-eye.

  2. Thank you! Peering inside your mind is always an adventure. It always seems to me like you had a very romantic childhood/early adulthood, even though I’m sure you don’t feel it was. In this case, your shared music experiences are mysterious to me – music for me, like everything, really, was intensely solitary. Even today I have never been to a live gig. The Tea Party are playing here in Melbourne for their new album (the first in several years) on Sunday, and I even could have had a date for it…but I can’t.

    I never ‘got’ Devo. That’s true for a lot of the synthpop genre, but Devo is a special standout because pretty much everyone else I know loves them.

    I’m sure that the old school masters would have been way more influential in my life had I actually discovered them before the start of this century. The Beatles, Led Zep, Pink Floyd, even Elton John have a huge body of classic work. I’m actually discovering more awesome music from the 60’s and 70’s these days, than I am new music.

    Going into the eighties, huge thumbs up for the B-52’s, Crowded House and Peter Gabriel – I love Sledgehammer. I like INXS, and I can see why people are fanatics about them, but I never caught that fire. And the other 80’s rock I recognise, I even know reasonably well from the radio and various pop culture references, but they don’t appeal to me in the way that stuff like (don’t hurt me) The Bangles or the flood of one hit wonders that the 80’s and 90’s are famous for.

    You are so right about Of Monsters And Men. I have loved them ever since Akabeko showed me King and Lionheart. This track of yours is definitely a druid song! I think OMAM could do several WoW class songs – King and Lionheart I can see as a (human or Dwarf) Paladin theme song.

    Finally, I am like you in that nothing I listed in my post was recent (you have OMAM though). I try to listen to new stuff regularly, and I’ve found a lot of music that has expanded my horizons even more than I posted about, but that post was about albums, and I restricted myself to ones I own or have owned. I haven’t owned a new album since about 2008 or 2009, partly because I’ve never been all that enamoured of the album as a format, but mostly because it is so easy to find and lift individual tracks out of albums with today’s digital distribution. I’m much more likely to say that I love X artist’s song than I love X artist, or X artist’s work (this only after there are several songs I adore).

    Good stuff! You should challenge other bloggers to do this too. 😛

    1. I can’t believe I left Nirvana off this list. (I hate Pearl Jam, though.)

      The reason why I can’t believe it is because the music on this list is all in context. It made me somewhat melancholy, because the fact is our music, our personal timeline life soundtracks, are in context of our times. The fact that I chose Pretenders and Police over Scorpion and AC/DC speaks to my exploration of my identity at the time. I listened to INXS and Peter Gabriel’s SO album till my Walkman’s batteries melted when I was in college, about a thousand years ago. I do not have INXS on my i-pod now. DEVO’s genius only became clearer after CD Rogue shared with me why they were such a huge influence on him. Mark Mothersbaugh is very talented artistically, and we don’t seem to have many of those Renaissance men and women of music currently. Now, maybe because of generational biases, I’m having trouble connecting to the new era of hipster/folksy/soft songs, but I have a much younger college who loves it. Like you, whole albums tend not to interest me any further, but I grew up in the glory days of album rock. CD Rogue has tried his best to get me into OIngo Boingo, but alas, only Danny Elfman soundtracks for me. Although I dare anyone to keep their feet still when listening to Dead Man’s Party.

      So I pretty much forgot about the 90s: I listened to Bare Naked Ladies, kd lang, and instrumental artists like Ali Farke Toure. I love Red Hot Chili Peppers, Gorillaz, Los Lobos, Los Straightjackets, Beck is a huge one for me still, and the list goes on. This is a fun exercise, crafting the soundtrack of our lives! Well done sir. Anyone else?

Leave a Reply

