RTMT: Code Switch

beetlejuice

This was your plan all along, wasn't it, Mr. Snerguls?
This was your plan all along, wasn’t it, Mr. Snerguls?

Happy Horns, seriously, you gotta pay more attention to your dangling modifiers: The other day I noticed my childhood friend (since we were four years old) posted an article about Anita Sarkeessian. I PM’d my friend, finally revealing my secret identity as “Mataoka, The Most Beautiful Shaman in the World” and she was quite accepting and wonderful. Not many folks I can share that with in the muggle world, you know. (There needs to be a parallel term for “real life” folks like the term ‘muggles’ in Harry Potter…let’s work on that.)

Anyway, my ears have been perking up quite a bit over women and the sciences, specifically computer sciences. I know even know many young women who do not see the correlation between sex appeal and intelligence, who are still ‘playing dumb,’ so much so they become the illiterate idiot they imagine “boys” want. I hate to tell you, chicas, but beauty fades fast, but a sharp brain gets you through even the dullest moments of life. It helps you cut through the bullshit.

In any case, I can see why so many folks, male and female, take a step back from Azeroth. I wonder if there is a correlation between the amount of mental challenges the game requires and engagement. (In fact, I am certain I can make a strong case for this.) The other night I was in a fun group doing heroic MSV. We got to heroic Sha, and it was hard! What?! We can’t just roll through it?! Hawt said she liked it, that she enjoyed the challenge like a puzzle. I totally get that. When you need to figure out the mechanics of a fight it’s more fun.

I know I tested Turk’s patience a little bit last night because we were trying to two-man Deathwing’s spine. He finally drew me a diagram on the boat and patiently explained it (it’s okay Turk–I try CD Rogue’s patience, too.) We almost got it, but it was late, and we thought we’d try again another time. That gets me thinking, too, (it is RANDOM Tuesday Morning Thought after all): what kinds of things aggravate or irritate you in the game based on your personality? There must be a direct correlation. Me? I can fly around on all sorts of characters collecting candy for pets. That doesn’t bother me. However, for those whose game time is precious, those time sinks are hell.

In any case, it’s cool to be smart, it’s worthwhile to be who you are, and this is true for men and women.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/money/2014/10/17/356944145/episode-576-when-women-stopped-coding

Snerguls out.

6 thoughts on “RTMT: Code Switch”

  1. Yeah boy does it fade fast, lol. I’d say that if you could get my husband to give an honest answer he’d say it’s that I can make him smile when he’s had a bad day.

    I don’t mind puzzles but I do mind those that have to be executed at the speed of light, I’m too slow. Even if I know what has to be done I can’t do it fast enough. Things like that have made me come really, really, close to quitting. I don’t know why I let myself do things that I KNOW are not fun to me. Stupid little me.

  2. Uh oh. I see you have noticed the GG rabbit hole. I urge you to brandish whatever holy symbol you have at hand, back slowly away and never allow yourself to be drawn into it. It is ugly. *Very* ugly. In the Secret World, the main antagonist is something called the Filth. It taints all it touches, and it very aptly characterises GG.

Leave a Reply

