pass the popcorn…

CD Rogue and I love movies. We were looking for something different for our October gorging of spooks, frights, and haunts, and came across this New Zealand gem:

The anti-heroine is truly refreshing, and one other thing–it passed the Bechdel Test with flying colors:

The Bechdel Test, sometimes called the Mo Movie Measure or Bechdel Rule is a simple test which names the following three criteria: (1) it has to have at least two women in it, who (2) who talk to each other, about (3) something besides a man. 

It was also nice to watch something where we knew none of the actors–sometimes the personae gets in the way of the story. Now of course that is my Hollywood-centric perspective talking: I’m sure in Aus/NZ those actors are very well known.

Check it out when you can!

 

 

4 thoughts on “pass the popcorn…”

  1. Looks exactly like the kind of scary movie I’d like! I recognise none of the actors in that, but I haven’t seen much NZ tv so that’s not a surprise.

    The only Aus scary movie I can think of is Wolf Creek…but google reminds me of some others that you absolutely must see:
    Picnic at Hanging Rock – kind of paranormal psychological creepy
    Van Diemen’s Land – hellish descent into cannibalism, maybe not “proper” horror though (and it shows where I am from!)

Leave a Reply

