OLRG: By Fire Be Awesome!

Well my sweet, sweet winter holiday break is in its last week. The house is a wreck. That’s what happens when people live in a space. I mean look at this one countertop: EASTER EGG GRASS? W.T……..! It was up in the cupboard where I keep my Crock-Pot. I found all kinds of things up in that cupboard. Regardless, I made chicken ‘stuff.’ I added chicken, pico de gallo, onions, Roma tomatoes, seasonings, etc., and then yesterday evening CD Rogue asked me what ‘we’ were doing for dinner. Hate that ‘royal we,’ but yes, CD Rogue, there is a Crock-Pot FULL of chicken for tortilla soup. I know his question was innocent, but…okay. See what I get for trying? Easter egg grass and knocked over spices.

mess

It wasn’t quite right – it needed either black beans or something, else, but it was pretty good. But yes, that resulted in a lot of dishes to wash and Easter egg basket grass on my counter. I am trying desperately to clean out clutter this week, but somehow clutter breeds, spawns, like a fungus. I read this article not too long ago about a Zen master of de-cluttering, and her simple advice was if the object doesn’t spark joy, trash it. There are a lot of things in my world that will not meet the ‘joy’ test. E-mails, both valid and spam, recycling, trash, books stacked on books, and of course jokes sent by my dad:

Dear Friends,

With  the New Years celebration close upon us, I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving.

As you know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time, often on the way home after a “social session” with family or friends.

Well, two days ago, this happened to me. I was out for an evening with friends and had more than several beers followed by a couple of bottles of rather nice red wine and a few vodka shots. Although relaxed, I still had the common sense to know I was slightly over the limit.

That’s when I did something I’ve never done before – I took a taxi home.

Sure enough on the way there was a police roadblock, but since it was a taxi they waved it past and I arrived home safely without incident.

This was a real surprise to me, because I had never driven a taxi before. I don’t know where I got it, and now that it’s in my garage I don’t know what to do with it.

Happy New Year!

Even yesterday Cymre asked if I had a screenshot of something, but alas, I didn’t – I’m trying to delete thing as I go, otherwise I end up with a cloud-level storage of screenshots and guilt. Guilt because clutter has a cost–it reminds us of all the things we haven’t, and probably won’t, accomplish. I did take screenshots of our Saturday’s OLRG Molten Core edition, but they were kind of…bad. Fortunately, Helke came to my rescue yesterday when she sent me a great screenie:

WoWScrnShot_122714_195234

We had a great time: we didn’t have Vent on, and I missed not hearing folks’ voices. When our budget allows, I’m going to look into getting my own Mumble service. Vent is good, but Mumble always has clearer and more even voice tones. I’ll give you the information next time we play, but in the meantime here is a link to download Mumble. Molten Core, from what I understand, gives players the true experience of what it was like to raid in Vanilla. I guess. Not sure even the Wizards at Blizzard have that good of a time machine. I wish the enchant dropped more, and I certainly wish the pet dropped, guaranteed, too. But alas they don’t. Of course they don’t. Sometimes I feel like Blizzard throws its players a huge party and then expects us to pick up the check. Whatev.

Regardless, we went, we conquered, we got our hats, and all is well! I’ll try to get a group for next Saturday, too, if we manage to have any alts that need to go. I don’t know about this alt thing anymore, either. Having some doubts. I need to write about my feelings about the barn and trapping. Let’s just say on the Alliance side it feels like I’m compromising my values and running with the redneck hillbillies from Duck Dynasty. Yuck. When did Homer Stonefield and his son become such incredible yokels? And do you remember when we worked so hard to get Maybell Maclure and Tommy Stonefield together? Well now she just walks around the Barn like she’s on heavy-duty doses of Thorazine wondering where did it all go wrong…

Oh well.

So, till next time my intrepid OLRG: onward!

3 thoughts on “OLRG: By Fire Be Awesome!”

  1. It was wonderful! I’m hoping for a repeat this Saturday! Wait! Wait! Don’t get Mumble, I checked and it was easy to convert our Vent server so I reenlisted the ladies for another year so we’re good. Supposedly everything will be the same, haven’t checked yet but we should be in order for the next OLRG!

Leave a Reply

